Just Call Me The Cookie Monster

choc-chip-1

I’m a lazy baker. I don’t always level my measurements (shhh…) which may or may not explain why the majority of baking adventures I take are just shots in the dark. In any case, as a self-proclaimed lazy baker, I’m always on the lookout for the perfect chocolate chip cookie for those personal days when I feel like baking without having to think too much. This recipe is it. It uses measurements that are easy to remember and the best part is that it uses melted butter. Yaaas! No more pre-planning when to take the butter out of the fridge so it’s “softened” for me!

I made these cookies tonight in between movie binging with The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and The Theory of Everything. All by myself and all for myself (the movie night, not the cookies). It was a great night to mark not only the end of a tough, paper-filled weekend but the start of another long, paper-filled two weeks to come. Thanks, college!

Also, apologies in advance — there is a super limited range of light in my apartment and I accidentally set my ISO level too high, hence the intense noise in the images.

The “don’t make me think too much” chocolate chip cookie:
Makes 24 cute little cookies, 12 if you’re ambitiously hungry

1 stick butter (melted)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking soda

rounded 1/2 tsp sea salt

2 cups chocolate chips

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (yes, do it first. I know we all wait until the very last minute)

Combine melted butter and two sugars. Mix well and add the egg. When combined, stir in the vanilla extract, baking soda, and sea salt. Add chocolate chips and flour until everything comes together.

Use a tablespoon to portion out the dough to make 24 cookies. Place the cookie tray in the freezer for 5-10 minutes before putting into the oven.

Bake for 10-12 minutes and transfer to a cooling rack. Let cool (if you can resist) for 5 minutes.

Microwave leftover cookies (ha!) for 10 seconds the next morning (because let’s be real, cookies for breakfast are bomb) to return them to their former glory.

Enjoy!

choc-chip-4choc-chip-6

Leave a Reply

